Request Material

Georgia county records

Georgia county records

Descriptive Summary

Title: Georgia county records
Creator: Schindlers
Inclusive Dates: 1813-1873
Language(s): English
Extent: 1 folder(s)
Collection Number: ms862
Repository: Hargrett Library

Collection Description

Historical Note

Jefferson County, in east central Georgia southwest of Augusta, was established in 1796 on land formerly a part of Burke and Warren counties. Coweta County, Georgia's sixty-fourth, encompasses 443 square miles in west central Georgia. It was one of five counties created by the 1825 Treaty of Indian Springs, when Chief William McIntosh relinquished Creek Indian lands to the United States. Coweta was named after McIntosh's tribe and their town, one of the largest centers for the Creek Nation. Murray County, Georgia's eighty-sixth county, was created in 1832 by land lottery. Named for Thomas W. Murray, former Speaker of the Georgia House of Representatives, this northwestern county is bounded by the Georgia-Tennessee state line and Fannin, Gilmer, Gordon, and Whitfield counties. Jackson County, in northeast Georgia, is the state's twenty-second county, created in 1796 from part of Franklin County on land formerly held by Cherokee and Creek Indians. It was named for James Jackson, who was a general in the Revolutionary War (1775-83). Columbia County lies along the Savannah River in east central Georgia, bordering South Carolina just northwest of Augusta. It was created by an act of the state legislature from a northern part of Richmond County on December 10, 1790. In the colonial era the territory that constitutes Columbia County was laid out as part of St. Paul Parish. Named for explorer Christopher Columbus, the county was created in response to a request by backcountry settlers that they be given court sessions that would be more convenient than those held in Augusta. Whitfield County is located in northwest Georgia at the southern end of the Appalachian Mountains, about thirty miles south of Chattanooga, Tennessee, and eighty miles north of Atlanta.

Scope and Content

The collection consists of records from several counties in Georgia. Jefferson County: warrant of appraisements for estate of William Parsons, dated September 11, 1813. Coweta County: Deed: Hitchcock to Hutcheson dated July 14, 1829. Murray County: Deed: Pentz and White to Senter dated May 19, 1848. Jackson County: Arbitration regarding the estate of M. Witt. Superior Court, August term 1858. Columbia County: Deed: Leitner to Jenkins, dated December 9, 1872. Whitfield County: Deed: Cox to Swift, dated December 27, 1853.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Georgia county records, ms862, Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.

Related Materials and Subjects

Subject Terms

Arbitration (Administrative law) -- Georgia -- Jackson County.
County government records.
Deeds -- Georgia.
Parsons, William -- Estate
Real property -- Georgia -- Columbia County.
Real property -- Georgia -- Coweta County.
Real property -- Georgia -- Murray County.
Real property -- Georgia -- Whitfield County.
Valuation -- Georgia.
Witt, M. -- Estate

Series Descriptions and Folder Listing

1county records, 1813-1873