Request Material

McHatton autograph collection

McHatton autograph collection

Descriptive Summary

Title: McHatton autograph collection
Inclusive Dates: 1932, 1936
Language(s): English
Extent: 1 folder(s)
Collection Number: ms662
Repository: Hargrett Library

Collection Description

Historical Note

Thomas H. McHatton was the first head of the Department of Horticulture at the University of Georgia. He was also elected and served as the president of the American Society for Horticultural Science (1930-1931), the only Georgian to be so honored.

For more information see the"" University of Georgia College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences Endowment page.

Scope and Content

The collection consists of a group photograph of the five members of the National Transportation Committee at its organization meeting in New York City in October, 1932. The members were Bernard M. Baruch, Clark Howell, Alfred E. Smith, Alexander Legge, and Calvin Coolidge. The first four members sent autographed letters to Dr. McHatton; Henry E. Ross, Secretary, sent a letter with Coolidge's autograph enclosed. There is also a letter from Dr. Harvey Cushing, Yale University School of Medicine, to Dr. McHatton, July 18, 1936.

Organization and Arrangement

Arranged in chronological order.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

McHatton autograph collection, ms662, Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.

Finding Aid Publication

Finding aid prepared on: 2014.

Related Materials and Subjects

Subject Terms

Cushing, Harvey, 1869-1939 -- Autographs
Howell, Clark, 1863-1936 -- Autographs
McHatton, Thomas Hubbard -- Correspondence
National Transportation Committee (U.S.)
Signatures (names)

Series Descriptions and Folder Listing

1Autographs and photograph, 1932, 1936