Request Material

Milton Luther Fleetwood papers

Milton Luther Fleetwood papers

Descriptive Summary

Title: Milton Luther Fleetwood papers
Creator: Fleetwood, Milton Luther, 1892-1966
Inclusive Dates: circa 1934-1966
Language(s): English
Extent: 1.8 Linear Feet (4 document boxes, 1 half box)
Collection Number: ms193
Repository: Hargrett Library

Collection Description

Historical Note

Milton Luther Fleetwood (1892-1966), publisher of the Tribune News, Cartersville, Georgia.

Scope and Content

The collection consists of papers of Milton Luther Fleetwood from ca. 1934-1966. The papers include correspondence, articles written by Fleetwood, speeches, photographs, and printed material. The collection documents Fleetwood's career as publisher of the Tribune News (Cartersville, Ga.), and his involvement in the Georgia Dailies Advertising Association, Georgia Historical Commission, Georgia Layman's Education Association, Georgia Press Association, Euharlee Farmers' Club, and the Georgia Mental Health Program.

Organization and Arrangement

Arranged by record type.

Administrative Information

Preferred Citation

Milton Luther Fleetwood papers, ms93, Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.

General Notes

Cataloged as part of the Georgia Archives and Manuscripts Automated Access Project: A Special Collections Gateway Program of the University Center in Georgia.

Related Materials and Subjects

Subject Terms

Agriculture -- Georgia -- Societies, etc.
Cartersville (Ga.)
Georgia -- History -- Societies, etc.
Georgia Press Association
Newspaper publishing -- Georgia.
Newspapers -- Georgia.
Speeches (documents)

Series Descriptions and Folder Listing


Biographical information

11Fleetwod, Milton Luther: Biographical sketches


12Correspondence A-D
Correspondents include Ellis Arnall, J.R. Burgess, Cason Callaway, Albert B. Chandler, and John W. Davis.
13Correspondence F-Ha
Correspondents include James A. Farley, Dudley Glass, Walter F. George, Marvin Griffin, and Corra Harris.
14Correspondence Ho-O
Correspondents include Ed Howe, Hugh S. Johnson, Lyndon B. Johnson, Harnett Kane, O.B. Keeler, Margaret Mitchell, and Chase Osborne.
15Correspondence P-Sa
Correspondents include George Foster Peabody, Mrs. E.D. Rivers, Dean Rusk, Richard B. Russell, and S.V. Sanford.
16Correspondence Se-V
Correspondents include Mildred Seydell, Adlai Stevenson, Herman Talmadge, Harry Truman, Blake Van Leer, and Ernest Vandiver.
17Correspondence, 1918-1946
18Correspondence, 1947-1960
21Correspondence, 1961 January-August
22Correspondence, 1961 October-December
23Correspondence, 1962 January-March
24Correspondence, 1962 April-June
25Correspondence, 1962 July-September
26Correspondence, 1962 October-December
27Correspondence, 1963
28Correspondence, 1964
29Correspondence, 1965
210Letters of condolence, 1966 August 21-22
211Letters of condolence, 1966 August 23-24
212Letters of condolence, 1966 August 25-26
213Letters of condolence, 1966 August 27-31
214Letters of condolence, 1966 September-December
215Correspondence, undated

Subject Files

33Euharlee Farmers Club
34-6Articles by M.L. Fleetwood
37-10Articles about M.L. Fleetwood
311Articles about M.L. Fleetwood's death
312-13Pictures, newspaper and magazine
316Speeches and notes
41-2Speeches and notes
43Georgia Press Assocation bulletins and releases
44Georgia Press Assocation Hall of Fame rules
45Georgia Press Assocation Minutes
46Pictures, miscellaneous
48-9Political, General
410-11Printed material, general
52Whitworth, Hiram land grant, Cherokee County, 1836
53Tribune- news about