Request Material

Charlotte Ross Jones collection

Charlotte Ross Jones collection

Descriptive Summary

Title: Charlotte Ross Jones collection
Creator: Jones, Charlotte
Inclusive Dates: 1960-1961
Language(s): English
Extent: 0.25 Linear Feet
Collection Number: UA0091
Repository: University of Georgia Archives

Collection Description

Biographical/historical note

UGA student, Charlotte Jones, was elected president of the W.S.G.A. for the 1960-1961 term. This organization was responsible for the rules and regulations governing University women.

Charlotte was also a member of the Mortar Board at UGA. At the time this was the first-ever national organization honoring senior college women.

Scope and Content

The material in this collection date from 1960 through 1961 and relate to Charlotte Jones' activities with the UGA Women's Student Government Association and Mortar Board. The items include booklets, a program, newpaper clippings and notes from Mortar Board.

Organization and Arrangement

The collection is arranged according to subject.

Administrative Information

Preferred citation note

Charlotte Jones collection, UA0091, University Archives, Hargrett Rare Book and Manuscript Library, The University of Georgia Libraries.

General Notes

RG 6

Related Materials and Subjects

Subject Terms

Mortar Board (Society). Parthenian Chapter (University of Georgia)
University of Georgia. Students
University of Georgia. Women's Student Government Association

Series Descriptions and Folder Listing


1. Women's Student Government Association (W.S.G.A.)

11News clippings , 1960
12Z Night "click with the classics" Z Club program [includes presentation of W.S.G.A. Loyalty Award by Charlotte Jones], 1960 May 16

2. Mortar Board

13Ribbon used in Mortar Board tapping ceremony, 1960
14Mortar Board calendar, 1961-1961
15Mortar Board booklet [contains certificate of membership], 1960
16Mortar Board invitation and congratulations , 1960
17Mortar Board place setting and napkin, 1960
18Mortar Board booklet [includes a list of members from 1939 through 1960], 1960